Kat Von D Beauty

I think we all appreciate and love Kat Von D in our own way. Miami Ink, La Ink, High Voltage Tattoo, Wonderland Gallery, her books,  KVD Beauty and the empire it has become… she’s just a badass. So when I received this package, I peed a little. I probably didn’t go to sleep until 1am just staring at my ceiling like, WTF. Who wouldn’t freak out?? jsdhvfjhavfjgavskfjhvasjgha!

The packaging and presentation are soooo clean. I’m a visual nerd so the coffin-esque shape box and how everything fit so snuggly in the black on black foam core cut outs…hnnnnng!

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 6.48.33 AM

The Shade+Light Eye Contour Quads are bomb! I’m a huge fan of matte shadows and all these bad boys are MATTE and pigmented af. I can’t decide if I have a favorite yet. I’m partial to orange and warm brows so that Rust palette hits a sweet spot. The Plum and Sage palettes have some really pretty intense colors too, though. And the Smoke palette is the essential “DUH!” cool-tone smokey eye must-have.

KVDlook

Pic above is some quick beauty looks. Left: Sage Palette and FYFE Liner on the eyes. Right: Plum, Rust, and Smoke palette… I got a little carried away.

KVDLip

I threw a little of the Rust shadows on top of Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita to add some extra highlight and contour. I used the Highlight (off white) and Define (deep brown) shades.

Ok confession time. I slept in my makeup because I’m a lazy sinner breaking the cardinal rule of skincare. I used the Lock-It Color Correcting Eyeshadow Primer and my smokey eye (the purple on seen above) woke up intact!! Not gonna lie, I was thoroughly impressed. Fresh to Death…literally. Side Note: I’ve been using the Deep Primer to give the shadows a little bit of a darker intensity.

There’s a Shade + Light Eye contour brush! I like blending harsh lines with a dense, firmer brush. The domed end is perfect for that. I used it to blend the shadows at my crease and diffuse any harsh lines on my lower lid. There is also a tapered end to the brush that gives way more precision and control to your application. I like it for right underneath my lash line. Erik Soto does a great brush demonstration video, if you haven’t seen it already, hit play.

Leave a Reply

