Life Beyond MAC

I grew up on MAC. I’ve been a regular for the past 13 years. I even worked for the company for a split second. I learned so much about ingredients, skin care, skin types, and skin tones while I was there. It was the hands-on experience I NEEDED.  I know the products, I know the shades, I am confident in MAC Cosmetics. That’s my go to (more specifically for my professional kit. I’ll try anything on my face… twice).

That being said, it has been so hard for me to try new makeup with the intention of adding it to my work kit. I kind of have that, “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” attitude. I eventually branched out into RCMA, Ben Nye, Makeup Forever… which I absolutely love now. But other brands, I’m not so sure about. Especially with Instagram which is a great, free marketing tool for small cosmetic companies to reach way more people, but how much of the hype can you believe? Slowly and surely I’ll try things on myself, if I like it long enough, I’ll buy another for my pro kit. And let’s be real, it’s an investment and so much money can be wasted on products you won’t even use that will sit around and collect dust. I’m not about that life.

A student of mine had an eye shadow palette sitting in her kit for months, she hardly used it. One day she was so fed up with it taking up space in her kit, she gave it to me. It was the Morphe 35S Palette. I looked at it sideways. It had some nice colors, one dual intensity color I couldn’t look away from. Lots of intense colors, just how I like them. I skeptically thought, I’ll keep this in my personal kit, I don’t have many shadows (I swear I wear Brown Script every day). I tried a few looks. Needless to say, I’m very happy with the shadows and very inspired by the colors!!

These are all looks using the 35S Palette posted up on my IG. If you’re on the gram, come say hi! @brittbrutal Moral of the story: I suppose I could be a little more open minded to try new things, have fun with experimenting, and learn a few new tricks along the way… but continue to do your research! Don’t be NOBODY’S fool.

oxxx

B!!

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 11.46.30 AM

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 11.46.52 AM

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 11.47.17 AM

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 11.47.39 AM

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 11.48.05 AM

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 11.48.27 AM

Leave a Reply

