Robert Alvarado- Music to My Ears

Screen Shot 2015-03-16 at 10.20.50 PM

Once upon a time, in 2006, I found Model Mayhem. I discovered alternative models and some really cool imagery. I became obsessed with certain photos, the way the makeup, hair, and wardrobe worked together, creating emotions and engraving images into my head. I wanted to create images of my own to make people feel certain things, as I’m sure so many of us do. I thought I could be a model but that flame died quickly, it could have died a lot sooner actually. But anyway! I found Robert Alvarado‘s images particularly striking. I love retro, rockabilly, vintage, pinup-y type things so I was gaga for Alvarado. I became fascinated with all the models he shot and the certain confidence all his subjects seemed to exude. New fan right here!

Fast forward to 2012. I lived in Connecticut and worked for Lost Highway Imaging Photo Studio as the hair/makeup/stylist. The photographer, Beth (who is also a model), and I begin to open up to each other and we learned we both love Alvarado. We said, “One day we’re going to work with Robert Alvarado!” All the way from CT it sounded like a big fluffy day dream.

Fast forward to 2013. I moved back to California and I thought WTF? I’m just going to email Robert Alvarado and let him know I would like to offer my professional makeup services to him. Why not, I’m back in the same state. What’s the worst he can say? No? I tend to be an annoying optimist. no response -____- as i expected but I tried right? and that’s what counts! *annoying optimism*

Fast forward again to 2014. I get an email from Beth all the way in CT and it said, “Remember that imaginary fantasy we had where I shot with Robert Alvarado and you did my hair and makeup??? Well, that’s going to be a real thing!!!!” She flew all the way to CA and we shot with Robert Alvarado, in his house. That was an actual quote from the email she sent, just so you know.

IMG_1697

I kind of got overwhelmed because it was a moment I felt I achieved something I really wanted. Something I wouldn’t have been able to do if I remained in the same situation I was in back in 2006. It’s hard to push yourself to grow, or change, or chase something you really want. For me that was makeup. Sometimes the universe gives you teeny tiny glimpses of peace and a sense of accomplishment to let you know, you’re on the right path. That was one of them. These pictures hold more meaning than I could ever pour into the internet. Holding on to all my little Brittany dreams. Don’t quit your daydream. B

Screen Shot 2015-03-16 at 10.20.29 PM

Photo: Robert Alvarado

Model: Beth Claire

Hair: Laura Buenrostro

MU: Brittany Made Me Pretty

Leave a Reply

