The Oscars and My Brain Vomit

I do makeup because that’s my outlet. It is what gets ideas out of my head. Creating makes me happy. I sat behind a desk for 5 years and it killed a little bit of my soul knowing I was working for someone else’s dream. My free time was spent exhausted from a busy office work week. That left no time for me or my dream and, sorry if this is selfish, but it made me mad and sad… which was a slippery slope to resentment.

Now, I’ve met people that do makeup because it’s the trendy thing to do. I’ve met people that think makeup is being attractive and working for a big name retail company and having thousands of followers on Instagram. I’m not knocking those people, I’m just saying this makeup thing can be so much more.

The nominations for the Oscar’s this year were incredible! If only I could shadow these artists *fist shake* Seeing the work put into these productions and how it pays off has resonated with me since the award show. Here I go vomiting my thoughts into the internets.

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 1.00.57 PM

The old age makeup Steve Prouty did for Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa is flawless. You can read more about it here, but the article mentions there were 11 prosthetics for 1 hand… hello?!? And think about this, all of the makeup had to be durable. He got his YOU KNOW WHAT caught in a soda machine for crying out loud! The thought and production that went into this makeup is pretty amazing. If you’ve ever done old age makeup, I’m sure you know how hard it is to make it convincing enough for a photo let alone real life interaction and functionality. PS: I didn’t know Steve Prouty worked on Buffy… Angeeeeeeeeel ❤

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 12.45.18 PM

Then, Robin Mathews took the award with Dallas Buyers Club on a $250 budget… it’s baffling. Another article you must read here!

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 1.01.11 PM

 I was frustrated reading the article trying to put myself in their shoes, “We had to take them back and forth from their sickest look to their healthiest look, up to five times in one day,” Mathews said. “They maintained that 40-pound weight loss throughout. So when you see them in the film, and they look like they’re 25 pounds heavier and healthier because of the medication, that’s just makeup.” PSS: I didn’t know Robin Mathews worked on Eclipse and New Moon, I like Vampires ❤ ❤

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 12.45.37 PM

These people don’t have thousands of IG followers, they obviously don’t always have a huge budget, and they don’t look like they are dolled up headed to the club in every photo they take. Please hear me out, I’m not bashing (trust- I follow all the IG heavy hitters in makeup for inspiration), I’m saying don’t be discouraged. Don’t feel like you have to fit into a mold or a stereotype you see if it’s not you. The world’s big enough for all of us. Big things happen offline too. Follow your daydream.

B

Leave a Reply

